Top 6 Study Areas at TXST

By Daniel “D-Flo” Flores

After spending one year locked up on the 7th floor of Alkek like some kind of nerdy “Man-punzel,” I had to escape and look for a different environment where I could study, do homework, or work on my resume.  I spent the next semester challenging myself to only go to the library if I need to print a document or use any other resource that the library offers exclusively. The things I look for in a study spot on campus are:

  1. Is it reasonably quiet?
  2. Does it have an accessible plug near my work area?
  3. Can I fit my laptop, journal, and cup of coffee on the desk?

Not too much to ask for, right? Alright, let’s start this study journey through bobcat nation.

Comal

Comal Hall: Private Quarters 

Comal Hall houses the Department of Philosophy and is located off the Quad, in between the bobcat statue and Centennial Hall. Entering Comal instantly puts me in a productive mood. You know the one I’m talking about; that I’m about to write a 4-page essay in 2 hours with 110% concentration mood. My study spot is not on the first floor where those beautiful red velvet seats are. Instead, it’s on the 2nd or 3rd floors where you can find these secluded, quarantined study areas. If you take the stairs, it’ll be to your left when you get to the landing.  This space offers a beautiful view of the library and your fellow peers. Great lighting, a large work space, low foot traffic, and an electrical outlet makes this a great space for anyone who needs to crank out results while not being interrupted by their friends.

Oasis

 Education Department: Bobcat Oasis 

Located on the west side of the education building is where you will find this awe-inspiring, nature enveloped, study space. Studying here will make you forget for a brief moment that you are on campus. You will get a 360 degree view of Texas Native Plants. This study space is great if you need to be in a creative workflow. If you end up getting a creative block – take 5, and enjoy your surroundings. Another thing I’ve done at this Bobcat Oasis is practice my presentations or speeches. This space is perfect for the nature lover who needs access to power, a large working space and a breath of fresh air.

UAC

UAC: Sophistication Pad 

So modern, so sleek, so YOU. This sophisticated study pad is perfect for those who want a great view, but want to be sheltered from the elements. It has a modern, minimalistic look with a little lounge area and 3 tables large enough for multiple people to work at one station comfortably. This study area is located on the 4th floor of UAC. From the moment you step into the wood grain, stainless steel accented elevator you begin to get those ~enlightened~ vibes. With the room being mainly glass, this environment doesn’t give much content to get distracted with. When you exit the elevator, you can find the Sophisticated Pad immediately to your left. This study spot has electrical outlets, a view of campus activities, and—the best part—people respect this as a quiet area.

cave

ASBN: The Brain Cave 

It wasn’t until my junior year that I stumbled upon this little jewel. This cozy study space is tucked away right under the bridge that connects Lampasas and ASBN. The Brain Cave is another secluded spot with a nice view of the wild greenery which runs rampant in between the buildings. Unfortunately, this area offers no outlets but it’s such a great spot that I’ve made an exception. This space is basically the outside version of the private quarters. I use this space to read or study flashcards on Quizlet. But in all honesty, this study area is very versatile and can accommodate anyone’s needs. When it rains, this is where you want to be. The sound of the rain hitting the leaves is so soothing. Aesthetically, you feel like you are surrounded by water. Great study spot for a serene, peaceful work area.

Bar

Writing Center: Laptop Bar 

This was one of my more utilized study spots my freshman and sophomore year. Plain and simple, this study space has outlets galore! It offers a good amount of space if you’re writing notes from your laptop or in a journal. You can charge your laptop, phone, smart watch, etc. all at the same time. This area centers your attention to your screen. A great perk of this study spot is that it’s inside the writing center, so you can get help on all your writing needs. Another perk about this spot being in the writing center is FREE COFFEE! Need I say more?

Jones

Jones: Study Paradise

This has elements from all my favorite spots. Outside (but close to the indoors), beautiful scenery, plenty of outlets, and a modern view of the minimalist architecture. This area is for anyone looking to study with friends or grab a snack. This beautiful space is located next to Jones, closer to the UAC. There are so many tables and workstations here that you will never complain about not having enough space.

And there you have it! My top 6 picks for study spots on campus. So what do you think? Did I leave out your favorite one? Let us know!

Leave a comment